How everything started?

img-20140811-wa0000

Ever since I was a little girl, I had in mind that I wanted to volunteer, and that it would be better if it could be an international volunteering, because that will allow me to get to know the local people of the country at destination, as well as their culture and traditions; while I travel for a long period of time outside my country.

They say that every dream begins with an idea; sometimes that idea seems so crazy that we believe it is “impossible” to come true. We fear of what others will say or think, fear of failure, fear of the unknown so we paralyze without acting, neither forward nor backwards, only standing there just watching our life going by without deciding to take part.

Today I want to tell you a little about my experience, how I encouraged myself to face my own fears, to take the reins of my life and finally decided to make my dream come true, go to Thailand and Angkor Wat in Cambodia. All my life I had dreamed of being able to do it, but I could’t find the way. Among my fears and taboos was the thought that “traveling was expensive, almost impossible,” especially when I was looking to be away outside my country for more than a month visiting different countries. I have many friends who have gone backpacking to Europe, but few or none who have done so to Southeast Asia.

After almost five years i finishished college and worked in large corporations, with a stable job, well paid and what anyone would like to have, I felt tired and needed a change. It was then that the unexpected happened and by the end of May of this year 2016 I was without work and with the idea of not knowing what I wanted to do with my life, or where to look.

Talking to a great friend of mine, who has always been an inspiration to me, for everything he has achieved professionally and because we share many things in common, both focused on social and environmental issues. One day while we were drinking a glass of wine and talking about life, he said to me: If you have the desire to make that trip, why keep postponing it, especially now that you have what you need “money + time”, it is usually very difficult these two variables are fulfilled at the same time, and life is giving you this great opportunity that you cannot miss. You must do today what you can, you don’t know if tomorrow you will be able to. His words echoed so loudly in my ears and in my head that I promised to him “that night I would go back home and buy my one-way ticket plane to Thailand, no return.

This is how everything started, my adventure of going backpacking and travel to Southeast Asia. I didn’t have clear how my trip and my plans were going to be there, but one thing was for sure, I will do everything in my hands to stay there for a long amount of time: traveling, working, and/or volunteering. Now all I have is a one-way flight to Bangkok, the capital of Thailand but no return ticket.

About Andrea Carbax

Mexicana mochilera y viajera, voluntariados alrededor del mundo, adicta a viajar. Mis pasiones: la música, escribir, la naturaleza, la fiesta, la fotografía, el arte y la cultura. Mexican backpacker World Traveller, volunteering, #worldpacker addict. My passions: writing, music, dancing, nature, photography, arts & culture, party, travel. - "The best human quality is that of becoming unstoppable, and you become unstoppable by refusing to quit no matter what happens" - "Follow your dreams until they become true, fight for what you want in life and just make it happen!!" - "Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer" 😍
This entry was posted in Southeast Asia, Travel the world. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How everything started?

  1. Pingback: Planning my adventure – Part 1 | Andrea Carabax

Leave a Reply

